Pregnant on an Ambulance

So what is it like to be pregnant and working on an ambulance in Las Vegas?

  1. It’s hot as hell! I’m not using hell as a curse word here; I literally think hell is this hot. Working in the summers in Vegas are hot enough, but add in the pregnancy hot flashes and you’ve got an uncomfortable situation. I sweat in places I didn’t know you could sweat in. Or as I like to tell my husband I am glistening in places I didn’t know glistened. TMI? Oh stop you’ve had these thoughts before I’m just saying them out loud…or writing them out loud.
  2. It’s painful. All the aches and pains that come with pregnancy; which I happily endure for my little boy, are increased by sitting in a cramped space for 12 hours. We’ve all been on a road trip before, and you all must know how uncomfortable it is to sit for hours at a time. Now just add a 10 pound bowling ball to your stomach, and you’ll start to experience what I do. It’s fun…I say with a sarcastic smile.
  3. I have to pee all the time!!! Everyone knows that’s a common side effect of being pregnant, but I don’t always have a bathroom nearby when the urge hits. There are times we are running calls, and I have to wait until we get to a hospital. Other times we are sitting at a post waiting for calls, and there are no bathrooms around or ones you really want to use. So there is a lot of holding it and hoping I don’t sneeze.
  4. Everyone asking, “You’re still working?!” Yes, yes I am still working. I can see where people could be confused about this, but an uncomplicated pregnancy is not considered a disability. I get the same amount of maternity leave as anyone else would. Trust me there are times that I wish I was put on light duty or I could take more time off especially this late in the game. So if you do see me around let me answer your question before you ask it, “yes I am still working for a few more weeks.”

My sweet husband gets a lot of complaint text messages and lets me vent. Without him I don’t know what I would do. In the end, I put up with the heat, the aches, and the having to pee all the time for two reasons. The first reason being my precious son that I cannot wait to meet. The second reason being to help people. If you do this job you know we deal with a lot of non-emergent calls to put it nicely, but on the off chance I actually get to help people or save a life that’s what makes it worth it.

Leave a Reply

